Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  >  > Schedule and Results

1948 West Virginia Mountaineers Schedule and Results

Previous Year ▪ Next Year

Record: 9-3, .750 W-L% (24th of 117)
Conference: Ind (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Dudley DeGroot (9-3)

PS/G: 21.4 (36th of 117) ▪ PA/G: 11.7 (29th of 117)
SRS: 3.11 (57th of 117) ▪ SOS: -5.72 (94th of 117)

Bowl Game: Won Sun Bowl 21-12 versus Texas-El Paso

12 Games

G Date Day School Opponent Conf Pts Opp W L T Streak Notes
1 Sep 19, 1948 Sun West Virginia Waynesburg Non-Major W 29 16 1 0 0 W 1
2 Sep 25, 1948 Sat West Virginia Wooster Non-Major W 34 6 2 0 0 W 2
3 Oct 2, 1948 Sat West Virginia @ Temple Ind W 27 7 3 0 0 W 3 Hershey, PA
4 Oct 9, 1948 Sat West Virginia @ Pittsburgh Ind L 6 16 3 1 0 L 1
5 Oct 16, 1948 Sat West Virginia @ (9) Penn State Ind L 7 37 3 2 0 L 2
6 Oct 23, 1948 Sat West Virginia N Washington & Lee Southern W 14 7 4 2 0 W 1 Charleston, WV
7 Oct 30, 1948 Sat West Virginia South Carolina Southern W 35 12 5 2 0 W 2
8 Nov 6, 1948 Sat West Virginia Ohio Non-Major W 48 6 6 2 0 W 3
9 Nov 13, 1948 Sat West Virginia @ Virginia Ind L 0 7 6 3 0 L 1
10 Nov 20, 1948 Sat West Virginia Western Reserve Non-Major W 20 0 7 3 0 W 1
11 Nov 27, 1948 Sat West Virginia Maryland Southern W 16 14 8 3 0 W 2
12 Jan 1, 1949 Sat West Virginia @ Texas-El Paso BIAA W 21 12 9 3 0 W 3 Sun Bowl (El Paso, TX)