You Are Here > SR/CFB > Schools > Ohio State Buckeyes > 1979 > Schedule and Results

1979 Ohio State Buckeyes Schedule and Results

Previous Year ▪ Next Year

Record: 11-1, .917 W-L% (4th of 140) ▪ Rank: 4th in Final AP Poll
Conference: Big Ten (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Earle Bruce (11-1)

PS/G: 32.5 (5th of 140) ▪ PA/G: 10.5 (7th of 140)
SRS: 21.71 (4th of 140) ▪ SOS: 6.54 (33rd of 140)

Bowl Game: Lost Rose Bowl 17-16 versus Southern California

AP Poll Summary

Pre 9/10 9/17 9/24 10/1 10/8 10/15 10/22 10/29 11/5 11/12 11/19 11/26 12/3 Final
  15 16 14 8 8 6 4 5 3 2 2 3 1 4

12 Games

G Date Day School Opponent Conf Pts Opp W L T Streak Notes
1 Sep 8, 1979 Sat Ohio State Syracuse Ind W 31 8 1 0 0 W 1
2 Sep 15, 1979 Sat (15) Ohio State @ Minnesota Big Ten W 21 17 2 0 0 W 2
3 Sep 22, 1979 Sat (16) Ohio State Washington State Pac-10 W 45 29 3 0 0 W 3
4 Sep 29, 1979 Sat (14) Ohio State @ (17) UCLA Pac-10 W 17 13 4 0 0 W 4
5 Oct 6, 1979 Sat (8) Ohio State Northwestern Big Ten W 16 7 5 0 0 W 5
6 Oct 13, 1979 Sat (8) Ohio State Indiana Big Ten W 47 6 6 0 0 W 6
7 Oct 20, 1979 Sat (6) Ohio State Wisconsin Big Ten W 59 0 7 0 0 W 7
8 Oct 27, 1979 Sat (4) Ohio State Michigan State Big Ten W 42 0 8 0 0 W 8
9 Nov 3, 1979 Sat (5) Ohio State @ Illinois Big Ten W 44 7 9 0 0 W 9
10 Nov 10, 1979 Sat (3) Ohio State Iowa Big Ten W 34 7 10 0 0 W 10
11 Nov 17, 1979 Sat (2) Ohio State @ (13) Michigan Big Ten W 18 15 11 0 0 W 11
12 Jan 1, 1980 Tue (1) Ohio State @ (3) Southern California Pac-10 L 16 17 11 1 0 L 1 Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)