Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  >  > Schedule and Results

1978 Ohio State Buckeyes Schedule and Results

Previous Year ▪ Next Year

Record: 7-4-1, .625 W-L% (54th of 138)
Conference: Big Ten (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Woody Hayes (7-4-1)

PS/G: 28.2 (15th of 138) ▪ PA/G: 18.0 (50th of 138)
SRS: 12.99 (22nd of 138) ▪ SOS: 6.40 (41st of 138)

Bowl Game: Lost Gator Bowl 17-15 versus Clemson

AP Poll Summary

Pre 9/11 9/18 9/25 10/2 10/9 10/16 10/23 10/30 11/6 11/13 11/20 11/27 12/4 Final
7 6 16 13 14 16         19 16 20 20  

12 Games

G Date Day School Opponent Conf Pts Opp W L T Streak Notes
1 Sep 16, 1978 Sat (6) Ohio State (5) Penn State Ind L 0 19 0 1 0 L 1
2 Sep 23, 1978 Sat (16) Ohio State @ Minnesota Big Ten W 27 10 1 1 0 W 1
3 Sep 30, 1978 Sat (13) Ohio State Baylor SWC W 34 28 2 1 0 W 2
4 Oct 7, 1978 Sat (14) Ohio State Southern Methodist SWC T 35 35 2 1 1 T 1
5 Oct 14, 1978 Sat (16) Ohio State @ Purdue Big Ten L 16 27 2 2 1 L 1
6 Oct 21, 1978 Sat Ohio State Iowa Big Ten W 31 7 3 2 1 W 1
7 Oct 28, 1978 Sat Ohio State Northwestern Big Ten W 63 20 4 2 1 W 2
8 Nov 4, 1978 Sat Ohio State @ Wisconsin Big Ten W 49 14 5 2 1 W 3
9 Nov 11, 1978 Sat Ohio State Illinois Big Ten W 45 7 6 2 1 W 4
10 Nov 18, 1978 Sat (19) Ohio State @ Indiana Big Ten W 21 18 7 2 1 W 5
11 Nov 25, 1978 Sat (16) Ohio State (6) Michigan Big Ten L 3 14 7 3 1 L 1
12 Dec 29, 1978 Fri (20) Ohio State N (7) Clemson ACC L 15 17 7 4 1 L 2 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)