Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  >  > Schedule and Results

1987 Notre Dame Fighting Irish Schedule and Results

Previous Year ▪ Next Year

Record: 8-4, .667 W-L% (22nd of 104) ▪ Rank: 17th in Final AP Poll
Conference: Ind (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Lou Holtz (8-4)

PS/G: 28.2 (19th of 104) ▪ PA/G: 18.2 (25th of 104)
SRS: 15.25 (10th of 104) ▪ SOS: 7.75 (2nd of 104)

Bowl Game: Lost Cotton Bowl 35-10 versus Texas A&M

AP Poll Summary

Pre 9/8 9/15 9/22 9/29 10/6 10/13 10/20 10/27 11/3 11/10 11/17 11/24 12/1 12/8 Final
18 16 9 8 5 4 11 10 9 9 7 7 10 12 12 17

12 Games

G Date Day School Opponent Conf Pts Opp W L T Streak Notes
1 Sep 12, 1987 Sat (16) Notre Dame @ (9) Michigan Big Ten W 26 7 1 0 0 W 1
2 Sep 19, 1987 Sat (9) Notre Dame (17) Michigan State Big Ten W 31 8 2 0 0 W 2
3 Sep 26, 1987 Sat (8) Notre Dame @ Purdue Big Ten W 44 20 3 0 0 W 3
4 Oct 10, 1987 Sat (4) Notre Dame @ Pittsburgh Ind L 22 30 3 1 0 L 1
5 Oct 17, 1987 Sat (11) Notre Dame @ Air Force WAC W 35 14 4 1 0 W 1
6 Oct 24, 1987 Sat (10) Notre Dame Southern California Pac-10 W 26 15 5 1 0 W 2
7 Oct 31, 1987 Sat (9) Notre Dame Navy Ind W 56 13 6 1 0 W 3
8 Nov 7, 1987 Sat (9) Notre Dame Boston College Ind W 32 25 7 1 0 W 4
9 Nov 14, 1987 Sat (7) Notre Dame (11) Alabama SEC W 37 6 8 1 0 W 5
10 Nov 21, 1987 Sat (7) Notre Dame @ Penn State Ind L 20 21 8 2 0 L 1
11 Nov 28, 1987 Sat (10) Notre Dame @ (2) Miami (FL) Ind L 0 24 8 3 0 L 2
12 Jan 1, 1988 Fri (12) Notre Dame N (13) Texas A&M SWC L 10 35 8 4 0 L 3 Cotton Bowl (Dallas, TX)