Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  >  > Schedule and Results

1953 Alabama Crimson Tide Schedule and Results

Previous Year ▪ Next Year

Record: 6-3-3, .625 W-L% (35th of 110) ▪ Rank: 13th in Final AP Poll
Conference: SEC  ▪ Conference Record: 4-0-3 (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Red Drew (6-3-3)

PS/G: 14.8 (75th of 110) ▪ PA/G: 12.7 (34th of 110)
SRS: 4.92 (43rd of 110) ▪ SOS: 2.83 (43rd of 110)

Bowl Game: Lost Cotton Bowl 28-6 versus Rice

AP Poll Summary

Pre 9/28 10/5 10/12 10/19 10/26 11/2 11/9 11/16 11/23 Final
5           20   11   13

12 Games

G Date Day School Opponent Conf Pts Opp W L T Streak Notes
1 Sep 18, 1953 Fri (5) Alabama Southern Mississippi Non-Major L 19 25 0 1 0 L 1 Montgomery, AL
2 Sep 26, 1953 Sat (5) Alabama Louisiana State SEC T 7 7 0 1 1 T 1 Mobile, AL
3 Oct 3, 1953 Sat Alabama @ Vanderbilt SEC W 21 12 1 1 1 W 1
4 Oct 10, 1953 Sat Alabama Tulsa MVC W 41 13 2 1 1 W 2
5 Oct 17, 1953 Sat Alabama Tennessee SEC T 0 0 2 1 2 T 1 Birmingham, AL
6 Oct 24, 1953 Sat Alabama Mississippi State SEC T 7 7 2 1 3 T 2
7 Oct 31, 1953 Sat Alabama @ Georgia SEC W 33 12 3 1 3 W 1
8 Nov 7, 1953 Sat (20) Alabama Chattanooga Non-Major W 21 14 4 1 3 W 2
9 Nov 14, 1953 Sat Alabama (5) Georgia Tech SEC W 13 6 5 1 3 W 3 Birmingham, AL
10 Nov 21, 1953 Sat (11) Alabama @ (2) Maryland ACC L 0 21 5 2 3 L 1
11 Nov 28, 1953 Sat Alabama N (16) Auburn SEC W 10 7 6 2 3 W 1 Birmingham, AL
12 Jan 1, 1954 Fri Alabama N (8) Rice SWC L 6 28 6 3 3 L 1 Cotton Bowl (Dallas, TX)