Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  >  > Schedule and Results

1940 Southern Conference Schedule and Results

Previous Year ▪ Next Year

Record: 74-62-5, .543 W-L% (5th of 10) (Schedule and Results)

SRS: -1.01 (7th of 10) ▪ SOS: -2.67 (7th of 10)

Conference Champion: Clemson

Ranked in First AP Poll:(Clemson)
Ranked in Final AP Poll:(Duke)

37 Games

Only Ranked Teams ▪ Conference games only
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
1 Sep 21, 1940 Sat North Carolina State 16 William & Mary 0
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
2 Sep 28, 1940 Sat Duke 23 Virginia Military Institute 0
3 Sep 28, 1940 Sat North Carolina State 34 @ Davidson 0
4 Sep 28, 1940 Sat Wake Forest 12 @ North Carolina 0
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
5 Oct 5, 1940 Sat Clemson 26 North Carolina State 7 Charlotte, NC
6 Oct 5, 1940 Sat North Carolina 27 Davidson 7 Winston-Salem, NC
7 Oct 5, 1940 Sat Richmond 13 @ Virginia Tech 7
8 Oct 5, 1940 Sat Wake Forest 19 Furman 0
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
9 Oct 11, 1940 Fri Furman 36 Citadel 7
10 Oct 12, 1940 Sat Clemson 39 Wake Forest 0
11 Oct 12, 1940 Sat Virginia Military Institute 13 @ Davidson 7 Charlotte, NC
12 Oct 12, 1940 Sat William & Mary 20 Virginia Tech 13 Richmond, VA
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
13 Oct 19, 1940 Sat North Carolina 13 @ North Carolina State 7
14 Oct 19, 1940 Sat Washington & Lee 3 @ Richmond 0
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
15 Oct 24, 1940 Thu (13) Clemson 21 @ South Carolina 13
16 Oct 26, 1940 Sat Duke 23 @ Wake Forest 0
17 Oct 26, 1940 Sat Furman 40 Davidson 7
18 Oct 26, 1940 Sat Richmond 9 Virginia Military Institute 7
19 Oct 26, 1940 Sat Virginia Tech 21 Washington & Lee 0 Lynchburg, VA
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
20 Nov 2, 1940 Sat Furman 20 @ North Carolina State 6
21 Nov 2, 1940 Sat William & Mary 0 Virginia Military Institute 0
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
22 Nov 9, 1940 Sat (12) Duke 46 Davidson 13
23 Nov 9, 1940 Sat Richmond 14 North Carolina 13
24 Nov 9, 1940 Sat Virginia Tech 38 Furman 21
25 Nov 9, 1940 Sat Wake Forest 20 @ North Carolina State 14
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
26 Nov 16, 1940 Sat Furman 25 South Carolina 7
27 Nov 16, 1940 Sat North Carolina 6 (12) Duke 3
28 Nov 16, 1940 Sat North Carolina State 20 Citadel 14
29 Nov 16, 1940 Sat Virginia Military Institute 20 Maryland 0 Lynchburg, VA
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
30 Nov 21, 1940 Thu Virginia Military Institute 14 Virginia Tech 0 Roanoke, VA
31 Nov 21, 1940 Thu William & Mary 16 @ Richmond 0
32 Nov 23, 1940 Sat Clemson 13 @ Furman 7
33 Nov 23, 1940 Sat Duke 42 North Carolina State 6
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
34 Nov 28, 1940 Thu Wake Forest 7 South Carolina 6 Charlotte, NC
35 Nov 30, 1940 Sat Davidson 20 @ Citadel 6
36 Nov 30, 1940 Sat Washington & Lee 7 Maryland 7
Rk Date Day Winner/Tie Pts Loser/Tie Pts Notes
37 Dec 8, 1940 Sun South Carolina 31 @ Citadel 6