You Are Here > SR/CBB > Schools > West Virginia Mountaineers > 1982-83 > Schedule and Results

1982-83 West Virginia Mountaineers Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Overall: 23-8, .742 W-L% (26th of 274)
Conference: 10-4, 1st in A-10 West (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Gale Catlett (23-8)

PS/G: 79.9 (14th of 274) ▪ PA/G: 70.7 (170th of 274)
SRS: 9.35 (42nd of 274) ▪ SOS: 2.66 (92nd of 274)

NCAA Tournament: (#7 seed in East)
Lost East First Round (57-50) versus #10 James Madison

AP Poll Summary

Pre 11/30 12/7 12/14 12/21 12/28 1/4 1/11 1/18 1/25 2/1 2/8 2/15 2/22 3/1 3/8 Final
      20 16 20                      

Schedule and Results

G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
1 Sat, Nov 27, 1982 REG Saint Leo W 103 60 1 0 W 1
2 Wed, Dec 1, 1982 REG Youngstown State OVC W 105 79 2 0 W 2
3 Sat, Dec 4, 1982 REG Marshall Southern W 95 82 3 0 W 3
4 Tue, Dec 7, 1982 REG William & Mary ECACS W 65 51 4 0 W 4
5 Sat, Dec 11, 1982 REG @ Ohio State Big Ten W 69 67 2OT 5 0 W 5
6 Tue, Dec 14, 1982 REG Ohio Wesleyan W 98 50 6 0 W 6
7 Fri, Dec 17, 1982 REG N Georgia Southern A-Sun W 85 58 7 0 W 7
8 Sat, Dec 18, 1982 REG N Virginia Commonwealth Sun Belt W 66 65 OT 8 0 W 8
9 Tue, Dec 21, 1982 REG @ Stetson Ind L 69 76 8 1 L 1
10 Tue, Dec 28, 1982 REG N North Carolina State ACC L 59 67 8 2 L 2
11 Sat, Jan 8, 1983 REG Temple A-10 W 73 71 9 2 W 1
12 Thu, Jan 13, 1983 REG @ Penn State A-10 L 74 79 9 3 L 1
13 Sat, Jan 15, 1983 REG @ Pittsburgh Big East L 67 81 9 4 L 2
14 Mon, Jan 17, 1983 REG Duquesne A-10 W 91 79 10 4 W 1
15 Thu, Jan 20, 1983 REG St. Bonaventure A-10 L 63 64 10 5 L 1
16 Sat, Jan 22, 1983 REG @ Rutgers A-10 W 71 63 11 5 W 1
17 Sat, Jan 29, 1983 REG @ George Washington A-10 W 61 59 OT 12 5 W 2
18 Wed, Feb 2, 1983 REG Virginia Tech Metro W 90 86 3OT 13 5 W 3
19 Sat, Feb 5, 1983 REG @ Rhode Island A-10 W 73 72 14 5 W 4
20 Wed, Feb 9, 1983 REG N Saint Joseph's A-10 W 93 64 15 5 W 5
21 Sat, Feb 12, 1983 REG Massachusetts A-10 W 108 90 16 5 W 6
22 Wed, Feb 16, 1983 REG Penn State A-10 W 101 84 17 5 W 7
23 Sat, Feb 19, 1983 REG @ St. Bonaventure A-10 L 61 63 2OT 17 6 L 1
24 Wed, Feb 23, 1983 REG George Washington A-10 W 99 76 18 6 W 1
25 Sun, Feb 27, 1983 REG Nevada-Las Vegas PCAA W 87 78 19 6 W 2
26 Wed, Mar 2, 1983 REG @ Duquesne A-10 L 70 93 19 7 L 1
27 Sat, Mar 5, 1983 REG Saint Joseph's A-10 W 77 66 20 7 W 1
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
28 Wed, Mar 9, 1983 CTOURN N Penn State A-10 W 82 72 21 7 W 2
29 Fri, Mar 11, 1983 CTOURN N St. Bonaventure A-10 W 86 62 22 7 W 3
30 Sat, Mar 12, 1983 CTOURN N Temple A-10 W 86 78 23 7 W 4
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
31 Thu, Mar 17, 1983 NCAA N James Madison ECACS L 50 57 23 8 L 1