You Are Here > > > > > Schedule and Results

1958-59 West Virginia Mountaineers Schedule and Results

Previous SeasonNext Season

Overall: 29-5, .853 W-L% (4th of 173)
Conference: 11-0, 1st in Southern (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Fred Schaus (29-5)

PS/G: 84.8 (2nd of 173) ▪ PA/G: 72.4 (123rd of 173)
SRS: 13.19 (9th of 173) ▪ SOS: 0.77 (72nd of 173)

NCAA Tournament:
Won East First Round (82-68) versus Dartmouth
Won East Regional Semifinal (95-92) versus Saint Joseph's
Won East Regional Final (86-82) versus Boston University
Won National Semifinal (94-79) versus Louisville
Lost National Final (71-70) versus California

Support us without the ads? Go Ad-Free!

AP Poll Summary

12/9 12/16 12/23 12/30 1/6 1/13 1/20 1/27 2/3 2/10 2/17 2/24 3/2 Final
4 7 5 11 11 10 10 10 10 9 11 10 8 10

Schedules prior to the 1996-97 season may be missing games vs. non-Division I opponents.

Schedule and Results

G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
1 Mon, Dec 1, 1958 REG @ Furman Southern W 76 67 1 0 W 1
2 Tue, Dec 2, 1958 REG @ Virginia Military Institute Southern W 82 71 2 0 W 2
3 Sat, Dec 6, 1958 REG Penn State Ind W 78 63 3 0 W 3
4 Tue, Dec 9, 1958 REG Citadel Southern W 89 61 4 0 W 4
5 Fri, Dec 12, 1958 REG Duke ACC W 101 63 5 0 W 5
6 Sat, Dec 13, 1958 REG N Virginia ACC L 72 75 5 1 L 1
7 Tue, Dec 16, 1958 REG @ Richmond Southern W 98 67 6 1 W 1
8 Fri, Dec 19, 1958 REG N Oklahoma State Big 8 W 67 49 7 1 W 2
9 Sat, Dec 20, 1958 REG @ Kentucky SEC L 91 97 7 2 L 1
10 Sat, Dec 27, 1958 REG @ Northwestern Big Ten L 109 118 2OT 7 3 L 2
11 Mon, Dec 29, 1958 REG @ Tennessee SEC W 76 72 8 3 W 1
12 Fri, Jan 2, 1959 REG Yale Ivy W 80 52 9 3 W 2
13 Mon, Jan 5, 1959 REG Furman Southern W 100 66 10 3 W 3
14 Thu, Jan 8, 1959 REG @ Penn State Ind W 89 81 OT 11 3 W 4
15 Sat, Jan 10, 1959 REG @ Canisius Ind W 77 66 12 3 W 5
16 Tue, Jan 13, 1959 REG William & Mary Southern W 88 76 13 3 W 6
17 Fri, Jan 23, 1959 REG N Western Kentucky OVC W 74 72 14 3 W 7
18 Mon, Jan 26, 1959 REG @ George Washington Southern W 77 67 15 3 W 8
19 Fri, Jan 30, 1959 REG @ William & Mary Southern W 82 76 16 3 W 9
20 Tue, Feb 3, 1959 REG Pittsburgh Ind W 73 64 17 3 W 10
21 Sat, Feb 7, 1959 REG Holy Cross Ind W 96 90 18 3 W 11
22 Thu, Feb 12, 1959 REG @ New York University Metro NY L 70 72 OT 18 4 L 1
23 Sat, Feb 14, 1959 REG @ Richmond Southern W 64 62 19 4 W 1
24 Mon, Feb 16, 1959 REG Virginia Military Institute Southern W 99 55 20 4 W 2
25 Wed, Feb 18, 1959 REG @ Pittsburgh Ind W 90 69 21 4 W 3
26 Sat, Feb 21, 1959 REG George Washington Southern W 89 86 22 4 W 4
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
27 Thu, Feb 26, 1959 CTOURN N Davidson Southern W 100 65 23 4 W 5
28 Fri, Feb 27, 1959 CTOURN N William & Mary Southern W 85 82 24 4 W 6
29 Sat, Feb 28, 1959 CTOURN N Citadel Southern W 85 66 25 4 W 7
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
30 Tue, Mar 10, 1959 NCAA N Dartmouth Ivy W 82 68 26 4 W 8
31 Fri, Mar 13, 1959 NCAA N Saint Joseph's Mid-Atl W 95 92 27 4 W 9
32 Sat, Mar 14, 1959 NCAA N Boston University Ind W 86 82 28 4 W 10
33 Fri, Mar 20, 1959 NCAA N Louisville Ind W 94 79 29 4 W 11
34 Sat, Mar 21, 1959 NCAA N California PCC L 70 71 29 5 L 1