You Are Here > > > > > Schedule and Results

1965-66 Texas-El Paso Miners Schedule and Results

Previous SeasonNext Season

Overall: 28-1, .966 W-L% (2nd of 182) (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Don Haskins (28-1)

PS/G: 77.8 (75th of 181) ▪ PA/G: 66.2 (10th of 181)
SRS: 13.86 (10th of 181) ▪ SOS: 2.29 (52nd of 181)

NCAA Tournament:
Won Midwest First Round (89-74) versus Oklahoma City
Won Midwest Regional Semifinal (78-76) versus Cincinnati
Won Midwest Regional Final (81-80) versus Kansas
Won National Semifinal (85-78) versus Utah
Won National Final (72-65) versus Kentucky

Support us without the ads? Go Ad-Free!

AP Poll Summary

Pre 12/7 12/14 12/21 12/28 1/4 1/11 1/18 1/25 2/1 2/8 2/15 2/22 3/1 Final
          9 8 8 6 6 4 3 3 2 3

Schedules prior to the 1996-97 season may be missing games vs. non-Division I opponents.

Schedule and Results

G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
1 Tue, Dec 14, 1965 REG Weber State Big Sky W 74 63 1 0 W 1
2 Wed, Dec 29, 1965 REG Loyola (LA) Ind W 93 56 2 0 W 2
3 Thu, Dec 30, 1965 REG Iowa Big Ten W 86 68 3 0 W 3
4 Mon, Jan 3, 1966 REG Tulsa MVC W 63 54 4 0 W 4
5 Thu, Jan 6, 1966 REG Seattle Ind W 76 64 5 0 W 5
6 Wed, Jan 26, 1966 REG @ Arizona State WAC W 84 67 6 0 W 6
7 Sat, Jan 29, 1966 REG West Texas A&M Ind W 69 50 7 0 W 7
8 Tue, Feb 1, 1966 REG New Mexico State Ind W 104 78 8 0 W 8
9 Fri, Feb 4, 1966 REG @ Colorado State Ind W 68 66 9 0 W 9
10 Thu, Feb 10, 1966 REG Arizona WAC W 81 72 10 0 W 10
11 Sat, Feb 12, 1966 REG @ New Mexico WAC W 67 64 11 0 W 11
12 Mon, Feb 14, 1966 REG Arizona State WAC W 69 67 12 0 W 12
13 Thu, Feb 24, 1966 REG @ West Texas A&M Ind W 78 64 13 0 W 13
14 Sat, Feb 26, 1966 REG Colorado State Ind W 72 55 14 0 W 14
15 Wed, Mar 2, 1966 REG @ New Mexico State Ind W 73 56 15 0 W 15
16 Sat, Mar 5, 1966 REG @ Seattle Ind L 72 74 15 1 L 1
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
17 Mon, Mar 7, 1966 NCAA N Oklahoma City Ind W 89 74 16 1 W 1
18 Fri, Mar 11, 1966 NCAA N Cincinnati MVC W 78 76 OT 17 1 W 2
19 Sat, Mar 12, 1966 NCAA N Kansas Big 8 W 81 80 OT 18 1 W 3
20 Fri, Mar 18, 1966 NCAA N Utah WAC W 85 78 19 1 W 4
21 Sat, Mar 19, 1966 NCAA N Kentucky SEC W 72 65 20 1 W 5