You Are Here > > > > > Schedule and Results

1950-51 St. John's (NY) Red Storm Schedule and Results

Previous SeasonNext Season

Overall: 26-5, .839 W-L% (7th of 152)
Conference: 6-0, 1st in Metro NY (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Frank McGuire (26-5)

PS/G: 62.6 (62nd of 152) ▪ PA/G: 56.6 (39th of 152)
SRS: 11.25 (14th of 152) ▪ SOS: 5.46 (26th of 152)

NCAA Tournament:
Won East First Round (63-52) versus Connecticut
Lost East Regional Semifinal (59-43) versus Kentucky
Won East Regional Third Place (71-59) versus North Carolina State

Support us without the ads? Go Ad-Free!

AP Poll Summary

12/19 12/26 1/3 1/9 1/16 1/23 1/30 2/6 2/13 2/20 2/27 Final
13 12 11 11 5 6 9 7 7 8 9 9

Schedules prior to the 1996-97 season may be missing games vs. non-Division I opponents.

Schedule and Results

G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
1 Sat, Dec 2, 1950 REG William & Mary Southern W 63 47 1 0 W 1
2 Thu, Dec 7, 1950 REG Southern Methodist SWC W 76 72 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Dec 12, 1950 REG Kansas Big 7 L 51 52 2 1 L 1
4 Sat, Dec 16, 1950 REG Holy Cross Ind W 51 49 3 1 W 1
5 Tue, Dec 19, 1950 REG Utah MSAC W 67 66 4 1 W 2
6 Sat, Dec 23, 1950 REG Kentucky SEC L 37 43 4 2 L 1
7 Tue, Dec 26, 1950 REG Temple Ind W 90 68 5 2 W 1
8 Sat, Dec 30, 1950 REG San Francisco Ind W 67 47 6 2 W 2
9 Tue, Jan 2, 1951 REG N City College of New York Metro NY W 47 44 7 2 W 3
10 Sat, Jan 6, 1951 REG Syracuse Ind W 63 53 8 2 W 4
11 Thu, Jan 11, 1951 REG Bradley MVC W 68 59 9 2 W 5
12 Sat, Jan 27, 1951 REG @ Saint Joseph's Ind W 92 71 10 2 W 6
13 Tue, Jan 30, 1951 REG N Manhattan Metro NY W 46 39 11 2 W 7
14 Fri, Feb 2, 1951 REG @ St. Francis (NY) Metro NY W 44 38 12 2 W 8
15 Thu, Feb 8, 1951 REG @ John Carroll Ind W 68 61 13 2 W 9
16 Sat, Feb 10, 1951 REG @ Canisius WNY3 W 57 49 14 2 W 10
17 Thu, Feb 15, 1951 REG Niagara WNY3 L 75 77 14 3 L 1
18 Tue, Feb 20, 1951 REG N New York University Metro NY W 61 52 15 3 W 1
19 Wed, Feb 28, 1951 REG N Fordham Metro NY W 73 63 16 3 W 2
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
20 Mon, Mar 12, 1951 NIT St. Bonaventure WNY3 W 60 58 17 3 W 3
21 Thu, Mar 15, 1951 NIT Dayton Ind L 62 69 OT 17 4 L 1
22 Sat, Mar 17, 1951 NIT Seton Hall Ind W 70 68 2OT 18 4 W 1
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
23 Tue, Mar 20, 1951 NCAA N Connecticut Yankee W 63 52 19 4 W 2
24 Thu, Mar 22, 1951 NCAA N Kentucky SEC L 43 59 19 5 L 1
25 Sat, Mar 24, 1951 NCAA N North Carolina State Southern W 71 59 20 5 W 1