You Are Here > > > > > Schedule and Results

1956-57 San Francisco Dons Schedule and Results

Previous SeasonNext Season

Overall: 21-7, .750 W-L% (20th of 167)
Conference: 12-2, 1st in WCC (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Phil Woolpert (21-7)

PS/G: 61.9 (154th of 167) ▪ PA/G: 56.4 (2nd of 167)
SRS: 4.34 (42nd of 167) ▪ SOS: -0.81 (97th of 167)

NCAA Tournament:
Won West Regional Semifinal (66-51) versus Idaho State
Won West Regional Final (50-46) versus California
Lost National Semifinal (80-56) versus Kansas
Won National Third Place (67-60) versus Michigan State

Support us without the ads? Go Ad-Free!

AP Poll Summary

12/11 12/18 12/26 1/2 1/8 1/15 1/22 1/29 2/5 2/12 2/19 2/26 3/5 Final
2 2 19                      

Schedules prior to the 1996-97 season may be missing games vs. non-Division I opponents.

Schedule and Results

G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
1 Sat, Dec 1, 1956 REG @ California PCC W 70 56 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Dec 8, 1956 REG Seattle Ind W 57 52 2 0 W 2
3 Fri, Dec 14, 1956 REG @ Loyola (IL) Ind W 67 48 3 0 W 3
4 Mon, Dec 17, 1956 REG @ Illinois Big Ten L 33 62 3 1 L 1
5 Wed, Dec 19, 1956 REG N Western Kentucky OVC L 57 61 3 2 L 2
6 Fri, Dec 21, 1956 REG @ Washington (MO) Ind W 56 53 4 2 W 1
7 Fri, Dec 28, 1956 REG @ Oregon State PCC L 40 62 4 3 L 1
8 Sat, Dec 29, 1956 REG N Southern California PCC L 52 58 4 4 L 2
9 Fri, Jan 4, 1957 REG San Jose State WCC W 66 51 5 4 W 1
10 Tue, Jan 8, 1957 REG @ Santa Clara WCC L 47 51 5 5 L 1
11 Sat, Jan 12, 1957 REG Fresno State WCC W 68 56 6 5 W 1
12 Fri, Feb 1, 1957 REG Pepperdine WCC W 78 67 7 5 W 2
13 Sat, Feb 2, 1957 REG Loyola Marymount WCC W 66 45 8 5 W 3
14 Thu, Feb 7, 1957 REG @ Pacific WCC W 67 51 9 5 W 4
15 Fri, Feb 8, 1957 REG Saint Mary's (CA) WCC W 70 60 10 5 W 5
16 Tue, Feb 12, 1957 REG Santa Clara WCC W 58 47 11 5 W 6
17 Fri, Feb 15, 1957 REG Pacific WCC W 67 56 12 5 W 7
18 Sat, Feb 16, 1957 REG @ Fresno State WCC L 51 56 12 6 L 1
19 Fri, Feb 22, 1957 REG @ Pepperdine WCC W 88 66 13 6 W 1
20 Sat, Feb 23, 1957 REG @ Loyola Marymount WCC W 75 65 14 6 W 2
21 Fri, Mar 1, 1957 REG @ San Jose State WCC W 76 65 15 6 W 3
22 Tue, Mar 5, 1957 REG Saint Mary's (CA) WCC W 62 41 16 6 W 4
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
23 Fri, Mar 15, 1957 NCAA N Idaho State Ind W 66 51 17 6 W 5
24 Sat, Mar 16, 1957 NCAA N California PCC W 50 46 18 6 W 6
25 Fri, Mar 22, 1957 NCAA N Kansas Big 7 L 56 80 18 7 L 1
26 Sat, Mar 23, 1957 NCAA N Michigan State Big Ten W 67 60 19 7 W 1