You Are Here > > > > > Schedule and Results


See team's historical logos at sportslogos.net

1971-72 Marshall Thundering Herd Schedule and Results

Previous SeasonNext Season

Overall: 23-4, .852 W-L% (4th of 212) (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Carl Tacy (23-4)

PS/G: 92.9 (4th of 210) ▪ PA/G: 79.2 (122nd of 210)
SRS: 11.99 (11th of 210) ▪ SOS: -1.74 (139th of 210)

NCAA Tournament:
Lost Midwest First Round (112-101) versus Louisiana-Lafayette

Support us without the ads? Go Ad-Free!

AP Poll Summary

Pre 12/7 12/14 12/21 12/28 1/4 1/11 1/18 1/25 2/1 2/8 2/15 2/22 2/29 3/7 Final
- - - 20 17 13 20 16 14 11 11 10 8 9 10 12

Schedules prior to the 1996-97 season may be missing games vs. non-Division I opponents.

Schedule and Results

G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
1 Wed, Dec 8, 1971 REG Saint Peter's Ind W 106 71 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Dec 11, 1971 REG George Washington Ind W 97 73 2 0 W 2
3 Mon, Dec 13, 1971 REG @ Morehead State OVC W 105 82 3 0 W 3
4 Fri, Dec 17, 1971 REG Mississippi State SEC W 95 69 4 0 W 4
5 Sat, Dec 18, 1971 REG St. John's (NY) Ind W 110 107 5 0 W 5
6 Mon, Dec 20, 1971 REG Maine Yankee W 100 68 6 0 W 6
7 Mon, Dec 27, 1971 REG N Wisconsin Big Ten W 85 83 7 0 W 7
8 Tue, Dec 28, 1971 REG @ Marquette Ind L 72 74 7 1 L 1
9 Thu, Dec 30, 1971 REG Ohio MAC W 88 81 8 1 W 1
10 Thu, Jan 6, 1972 REG Morehead State OVC L 98 103 8 2 L 1
11 Sat, Jan 8, 1972 REG Western Michigan MAC W 102 77 9 2 W 1
12 Wed, Jan 19, 1972 REG Miami (OH) MAC W 81 63 10 2 W 2
13 Sat, Jan 22, 1972 REG @ Bowling Green State MAC W 103 80 11 2 W 3
14 Sat, Feb 5, 1972 REG N Long Island University Ind W 70 61 12 2 W 4
15 Sat, Feb 12, 1972 REG Bowling Green State MAC W 91 67 13 2 W 5
16 Wed, Feb 16, 1972 REG @ Ohio MAC W 95 76 14 2 W 6
17 Mon, Feb 21, 1972 REG @ Saint Francis (PA) Ind W 95 80 15 2 W 7
18 Thu, Mar 2, 1972 REG @ Miami (OH) MAC L 71 77 15 3 L 1
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
19 Sat, Mar 11, 1972 NCAA N Louisiana-Lafayette Southland L 101 112 15 4 L 2