You Are Here > > > > > Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:SRS Calculation Details

1978-79 Iowa Hawkeyes Schedule and Results

Previous SeasonNext Season

Overall: 20-8, .714 W-L% (26th of 256)
Conference: 13-5, 1st in Big Ten (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Lute Olson (20-8)

PS/G: 77.4 (73rd of 256) ▪ PA/G: 66.5 (35th of 256)
SRS: 17.60 (5th of 256) ▪ SOS: 7.79 (13th of 256)

NCAA Tournament: (#4 seed in Mideast)
Lost Mideast Second Round (74-72) versus #5 Toledo

Support us without the ads? Go Ad-Free!

AP Poll Summary

Pre 11/28 12/5 12/12 12/19 12/26 1/3 1/9 1/16 1/23 1/30 2/6 2/13 2/20 2/27 3/6 Final
                      15 14 12 11 14 20

Schedules prior to the 1996-97 season may be missing games vs. non-Division I opponents.

Schedule and Results

G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
1 Sat, Nov 25, 1978 REG Kent State MAC W 111 76 1 0 W 1
2 Tue, Nov 28, 1978 REG Wichita State MVC W 91 67 2 0 W 2
3 Sat, Dec 2, 1978 REG @ Colorado State WAC L 69 72 2 1 L 1
4 Sat, Dec 9, 1978 REG @ Drake MVC L 69 72 2 2 L 2
5 Mon, Dec 11, 1978 REG Iowa State Big 8 W 67 66 3 2 W 1
6 Sat, Dec 16, 1978 REG @ Illinois Wesleyan W 95 55 4 2 W 2
7 Sat, Dec 23, 1978 REG Drake MVC W 112 73 5 2 W 3
8 Fri, Dec 29, 1978 REG N Pennsylvania Ivy W 87 84 2OT 6 2 W 4
9 Sat, Dec 30, 1978 REG N Stanford Pac-10 W 83 68 7 2 W 5
10 Thu, Jan 4, 1979 REG @ Northwestern Big Ten W 65 57 8 2 W 6
11 Sat, Jan 6, 1979 REG @ Michigan Big Ten W 85 79 9 2 W 7
12 Thu, Jan 11, 1979 REG Ohio State Big Ten L 67 72 9 3 L 1
13 Sat, Jan 13, 1979 REG Indiana Big Ten W 90 61 10 3 W 1
14 Thu, Jan 18, 1979 REG @ Purdue Big Ten W 56 46 11 3 W 2
15 Sat, Jan 20, 1979 REG @ Michigan State Big Ten L 72 83 OT 11 4 L 1
16 Thu, Jan 25, 1979 REG Illinois Big Ten W 58 52 12 4 W 1
17 Sat, Jan 27, 1979 REG Minnesota Big Ten W 81 64 13 4 W 2
18 Thu, Feb 1, 1979 REG @ Wisconsin Big Ten W 70 64 14 4 W 3
19 Sat, Feb 3, 1979 REG @ Minnesota Big Ten W 97 71 15 4 W 4
20 Thu, Feb 8, 1979 REG Michigan State Big Ten L 57 60 15 5 L 1
21 Sat, Feb 10, 1979 REG Wisconsin Big Ten W 79 65 16 5 W 1
22 Thu, Feb 15, 1979 REG Purdue Big Ten W 75 72 17 5 W 2
23 Sat, Feb 17, 1979 REG @ Illinois Big Ten W 67 53 18 5 W 3
24 Thu, Feb 22, 1979 REG @ Indiana Big Ten L 62 64 18 6 L 1
25 Sat, Feb 24, 1979 REG @ Ohio State Big Ten W 83 68 19 6 W 1
26 Thu, Mar 1, 1979 REG Michigan Big Ten L 53 61 19 7 L 1
27 Sat, Mar 3, 1979 REG Northwestern Big Ten W 95 64 20 7 W 1
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
28 Sun, Mar 11, 1979 NCAA N Toledo MAC L 72 74 20 8 L 1