You Are Here > > > > > Schedule and Results


See team's historical logos at sportslogos.net

1995-96 Georgetown Hoyas
Schedule and Results

< 1994-95 Georgetown Schedule and Results1996-97 Georgetown Schedule and Results >

Overall: 29-8, .784 W-L% (19th of 305)
Conference: 13-5, 1st in Big East Big East 7 (Schedule and Results)
Coach: John Thompson (29-8)

PS/G: 83.3 (13th of 305) ▪ PA/G: 68.8 (98th of 305)
SRS: 22.63 (3rd of 305) ▪ SOS: 9.83 (17th of 305)

NCAA Tournament: (#2 seed in East)
Won East First Round (93-56) versus #15 Mississippi Valley State
Won East Second Round (73-62) versus #7 New Mexico
Won East Regional Semifinal (98-90) versus #3 Texas Tech
Lost East Regional Final (86-62) versus #1 Massachusetts

AP Poll Summary

Pre 11/20 11/27 12/4 12/11 12/18 12/26 1/2 1/8 1/15 1/22 1/29 2/5 2/12 2/19 2/26 3/5 Final
5 5 6 6 7 6 6 6 5 8 6 9 8 14 11 8 6 4

Schedule and Results

G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak Arena
1 Thu, Nov 16, 1995 REG Colgate Patriot W 106 57 1 0 W 1 Capital Centre
2 Fri, Nov 17, 1995 REG Temple A-10 W 74 49 2 0 W 2 Capital Centre
3 Wed, Nov 22, 1995 REG N Georgia Tech (25) ACC W 94 72 3 0 W 3 Madison Square Garden (IV)
4 Fri, Nov 24, 1995 REG N Arizona (19) Pac-10 L 81 91 3 1 L 1 Madison Square Garden (IV)
5 Wed, Nov 29, 1995 REG Southern-New Orleans W 96 65 4 1 W 1 Capital Centre
6 Sat, Dec 2, 1995 REG @ West Virginia Big East W 86 83 OT 5 1 W 2 WVU Coliseum
7 Mon, Dec 4, 1995 REG Rutgers Big East W 83 52 6 1 W 3 Capital Centre
8 Fri, Dec 8, 1995 REG Sacramento State AWC W 113 58 7 1 W 4 Capital Centre
9 Mon, Dec 18, 1995 REG Saint Francis (PA) NEC W 88 55 8 1 W 5 Capital Centre
10 Wed, Dec 20, 1995 REG Morgan State MEAC W 104 60 9 1 W 6 Capital Centre
11 Thu, Dec 28, 1995 REG N Duquesne A-10 W 88 86 10 1 W 7 Lakeland Center
12 Sat, Dec 30, 1995 REG Saint Leo W 123 65 11 1 W 8 Lakeland Center
13 Wed, Jan 3, 1996 REG @ DePaul CUSA W 81 61 12 1 W 9 Allstate Arena
14 Sat, Jan 6, 1996 REG Seton Hall Big East W 85 76 13 1 W 10 Capital Centre
15 Tue, Jan 9, 1996 REG @ Pittsburgh Big East L 56 75 13 2 L 1 Fitzgerald Fieldhouse
16 Sat, Jan 13, 1996 REG Miami (FL) Big East W 72 67 14 2 W 1 Capital Centre
17 Mon, Jan 15, 1996 REG @ Notre Dame Big East W 74 69 15 2 W 2 Purcell Pavilion at the Joyce Center
18 Sat, Jan 20, 1996 REG @ Seton Hall Big East W 82 62 16 2 W 3 Izod Center
19 Wed, Jan 24, 1996 REG Syracuse (17) Big East W 83 64 17 2 W 4 Capital Centre
20 Sat, Jan 27, 1996 REG @ St. John's (NY) Big East L 72 83 17 3 L 1 Madison Square Garden (IV)
21 Wed, Jan 31, 1996 REG West Virginia Big East W 91 67 18 3 W 1 Capital Centre
22 Sat, Feb 3, 1996 REG Notre Dame Big East W 70 53 19 3 W 2 Capital Centre
23 Mon, Feb 5, 1996 REG @ Villanova (6) Big East L 66 79 19 4 L 1 The Pavilion
24 Sat, Feb 10, 1996 REG @ Syracuse (18) Big East L 64 85 19 5 L 2 Carrier Dome
25 Tue, Feb 13, 1996 REG @ Boston College (21) Big East W 66 63 20 5 W 1 Silvio O. Conte Forum
26 Sat, Feb 17, 1996 REG Memphis (15) CUSA W 81 60 21 5 W 2 Capital Centre
27 Mon, Feb 19, 1996 REG Connecticut (3) Big East W 77 65 22 5 W 3 Capital Centre
28 Sat, Feb 24, 1996 REG Boston College (20) Big East W 67 64 23 5 W 4 Capital Centre
29 Tue, Feb 27, 1996 REG @ Providence Big East L 77 84 23 6 L 1 Dunkin' Donuts Center
30 Sat, Mar 2, 1996 REG Villanova (6) Big East W 106 68 24 6 W 1 Capital Centre
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak Arena
31 Thu, Mar 7, 1996 CTOURN N Miami (FL) Big East W 92 62 25 6 W 2 Madison Square Garden (IV)
32 Fri, Mar 8, 1996 CTOURN N Villanova (9) Big East W 84 76 26 6 W 3 Madison Square Garden (IV)
33 Sat, Mar 9, 1996 CTOURN N Connecticut (3) Big East L 74 75 26 7 L 1 Madison Square Garden (IV)
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak Arena
34 Fri, Mar 15, 1996 NCAA N Mississippi Valley State SWAC W 93 56 27 7 W 1 Richmond Coliseum
35 Sun, Mar 17, 1996 NCAA N New Mexico (23) WAC W 73 62 28 7 W 2 Richmond Coliseum
36 Thu, Mar 21, 1996 NCAA N Texas Tech (8) SWC W 98 90 29 7 W 3 Georgia Dome
37 Sat, Mar 23, 1996 NCAA N Massachusetts (1) A-10 L 62 86 29 8 L 1