Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  >  > Schedule and Results

1995-96 Georgetown Hoyas Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Overall: 29-8, .784 W-L% (19th of 305)
Conference: 13-5, 1st in Big East Big East 7 (Schedule and Results)
Coach: John Thompson (29-8)

PS/G: 81.8 (18th of 305) ▪ PA/G: 69.0 (97th of 305)
SRS: 22.63 (3rd of 305) ▪ SOS: 9.83 (17th of 305)

NCAA Tournament: (#2 seed in East)
Won East First Round (93-56) versus #15 Mississippi Valley State
Won East Second Round (73-62) versus #7 New Mexico
Won East Regional Semifinal (98-90) versus #3 Texas Tech
Lost East Regional Final (86-62) versus #1 Massachusetts

AP Poll Summary

Pre 11/20 11/27 12/4 12/11 12/18 12/26 1/2 1/8 1/15 1/22 1/29 2/5 2/12 2/19 2/26 3/5 Final
5 5 6 6 7 6 6 6 5 8 6 9 8 14 11 8 6 4

Schedule and Results

G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
1 Thu, Nov 16, 1995 REG Colgate Patriot W 106 57 1 0 W 1
2 Fri, Nov 17, 1995 REG Temple A-10 W 74 49 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Nov 22, 1995 REG N Georgia Tech ACC W 94 72 3 0 W 3
4 Fri, Nov 24, 1995 REG N Arizona Pac-10 L 81 91 3 1 L 1
5 Sat, Dec 2, 1995 REG @ West Virginia Big East W 86 83 OT 4 1 W 1
6 Mon, Dec 4, 1995 REG Rutgers Big East W 83 52 5 1 W 2
7 Fri, Dec 8, 1995 REG Sacramento State AWC W 113 58 6 1 W 3
8 Mon, Dec 18, 1995 REG Saint Francis (PA) NEC W 88 55 7 1 W 4
9 Wed, Dec 20, 1995 REG Morgan State MEAC W 104 60 8 1 W 5
10 Thu, Dec 28, 1995 REG N Duquesne A-10 W 88 86 9 1 W 6
11 Wed, Jan 3, 1996 REG @ DePaul CUSA W 81 61 10 1 W 7
12 Sat, Jan 6, 1996 REG Seton Hall Big East W 85 76 11 1 W 8
13 Tue, Jan 9, 1996 REG @ Pittsburgh Big East L 56 75 11 2 L 1
14 Sat, Jan 13, 1996 REG Miami (FL) Big East W 72 67 12 2 W 1
15 Mon, Jan 15, 1996 REG @ Notre Dame Big East W 74 69 13 2 W 2
16 Sat, Jan 20, 1996 REG @ Seton Hall Big East W 82 62 14 2 W 3
17 Wed, Jan 24, 1996 REG Syracuse Big East W 83 64 15 2 W 4
18 Sat, Jan 27, 1996 REG @ St. John's (NY) Big East L 72 83 15 3 L 1
19 Wed, Jan 31, 1996 REG West Virginia Big East W 91 67 16 3 W 1
20 Sat, Feb 3, 1996 REG Notre Dame Big East W 70 53 17 3 W 2
21 Mon, Feb 5, 1996 REG @ Villanova Big East L 66 79 17 4 L 1
22 Sat, Feb 10, 1996 REG @ Syracuse Big East L 64 85 17 5 L 2
23 Tue, Feb 13, 1996 REG @ Boston College Big East W 66 63 18 5 W 1
24 Sat, Feb 17, 1996 REG Memphis CUSA W 81 60 19 5 W 2
25 Mon, Feb 19, 1996 REG Connecticut Big East W 77 65 20 5 W 3
26 Sat, Feb 24, 1996 REG Boston College Big East W 67 64 21 5 W 4
27 Tue, Feb 27, 1996 REG @ Providence Big East L 77 84 21 6 L 1
28 Sat, Mar 2, 1996 REG Villanova Big East W 106 68 22 6 W 1
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
29 Thu, Mar 7, 1996 CTOURN N Miami (FL) Big East W 92 62 23 6 W 2
30 Fri, Mar 8, 1996 CTOURN N Villanova Big East W 84 76 24 6 W 3
31 Sat, Mar 9, 1996 CTOURN N Connecticut Big East L 74 75 24 7 L 1
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
32 Fri, Mar 15, 1996 NCAA N Mississippi Valley State SWAC W 93 56 25 7 W 1
33 Sun, Mar 17, 1996 NCAA N New Mexico WAC W 73 62 26 7 W 2
34 Thu, Mar 21, 1996 NCAA N Texas Tech SWC W 98 90 27 7 W 3
35 Sat, Mar 23, 1996 NCAA N Massachusetts A-10 L 62 86 27 8 L 1