Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  >  > Schedule and Results

1979-80 Georgetown Hoyas Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Overall: 26-6, .813 W-L% (12th of 260)
Conference: 5-1, 3rd in Big East (Schedule and Results)
Coach: John Thompson (26-6)

PS/G: 77.3 (49th of 260) ▪ PA/G: 69.2 (93rd of 260)
SRS: 13.08 (17th of 260) ▪ SOS: 5.01 (37th of 260)

NCAA Tournament: (#3 seed in East)
Won East Second Round (74-71) versus #6 Iona
Won East Regional Semifinal (74-68) versus #2 Maryland
Lost East Regional Final (81-80) versus #5 Iowa

AP Poll Summary

Pre 12/4 12/11 12/18 12/26 1/2 1/8 1/15 1/22 1/29 2/5 2/12 2/19 2/26 Final
19 17 16 17 17 18 20             20 11

Schedule and Results

G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
1 Wed, Dec 5, 1979 REG Maryland ACC W 83 71 1 0 W 1
2 Tue, Dec 11, 1979 REG @ Indiana Big Ten L 69 76 1 1 L 1
3 Wed, Dec 12, 1979 REG @ Oral Roberts MW City L 65 76 1 2 L 2
4 Thu, Dec 13, 1979 REG Providence Big East W 55 50 2 2 W 1
5 Fri, Dec 14, 1979 REG N Loyola Marymount WCC W 69 63 3 2 W 2
6 Sat, Dec 15, 1979 REG N Houston SWC W 78 75 4 2 W 3
7 Sat, Dec 22, 1979 REG Northeastern ECACN W 85 66 5 2 W 4
8 Wed, Dec 26, 1979 REG N Boston College Big East L 74 75 5 3 L 1
9 Thu, Dec 27, 1979 REG N Lafayette ECC W 65 60 6 3 W 1
10 Tue, Jan 1, 1980 REG Iona ECACM W 95 84 7 3 W 2
11 Thu, Jan 3, 1980 REG Drake MVC L 77 79 7 4 L 1
12 Tue, Jan 8, 1980 REG @ Saint Joseph's ECC W 62 53 8 4 W 1
13 Wed, Jan 16, 1980 REG Saint Peter's ECACM W 64 49 9 4 W 2
14 Sat, Jan 19, 1980 REG St. John's (NY) Big East L 69 71 9 5 L 1
15 Sat, Jan 26, 1980 REG American ECC W 86 62 10 5 W 1
16 Wed, Jan 30, 1980 REG @ Boston College Big East W 97 92 11 5 W 2
17 Sat, Feb 2, 1980 REG Connecticut Big East W 84 64 12 5 W 3
18 Wed, Feb 6, 1980 REG @ Seton Hall Big East W 81 67 13 5 W 4
19 Sat, Feb 9, 1980 REG Wagner ECACM W 89 75 14 5 W 5
20 Wed, Feb 13, 1980 REG @ Syracuse Big East W 52 50 15 5 W 6
21 Sat, Feb 16, 1980 REG Detroit Mercy Ind W 88 83 16 5 W 7
22 Wed, Feb 20, 1980 REG George Washington EAA W 98 74 17 5 W 8
23 Sat, Feb 23, 1980 REG Holy Cross ECACN W 105 78 18 5 W 9
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
24 Thu, Feb 28, 1980 CTOURN N Seton Hall Big East W 60 47 19 5 W 10
25 Fri, Feb 29, 1980 CTOURN N St. John's (NY) Big East W 76 66 20 5 W 11
26 Sat, Mar 1, 1980 CTOURN N Syracuse Big East W 87 81 21 5 W 12
G Date Type Opponent Conf Tm Opp OT W L Streak
27 Sun, Mar 9, 1980 NCAA N Iona ECACM W 74 71 22 5 W 13
28 Fri, Mar 14, 1980 NCAA N Maryland ACC W 74 68 23 5 W 14
29 Sun, Mar 16, 1980 NCAA N Iowa Big Ten L 80 81 23 6 L 1